The Magic of Riona

The enchanting Riona Treacy is having a magical moment. From having her designs featured in McQueen’s final show to recently selling her latest collection alongside JW Anderson. What will Ms. Treacy conjure up next?

I am sitting in Maison Bertaux, Soho one of London’s oldest patisseries. Not only am I eyeing up the delights on offer but eagerly awaiting the arrival of the designer of the moment, Ms. Treacy.

Relaxed, rustic and shabby-chic I can see why Riona recommended this 3-story French teahouse the offerings seem very enticing. Even more enticing is Riona’s entrance as she bounds into the café with the energy that I remember. ‘Well great to see you again, it must be at least 6 years?’ she gushes. Riona then continues to explain her choice of venue being close to Berwick Street as just this morning she was sourcing fabric for another bespoke commission.

Riona has not changed. I first encountered her over 8years ago on my first day of Art College in Belfast. As Riona stood up to exhibit her summer visual work, I viewed her A5 notebook with illustrations of blue biro. On first glance her summer work looked a bit inadequate compared to the garish mixed media exhibits of our class peers. Though studied closely the intricate etchings showed true potential. Riona was talented… she was very gifted!

At the end of that first year of Art College, Riona actually failed. Not because she wasn’t talented… just a little preoccupied, with things that every 19year old becomes engrossed with? It was perhaps the spur she needed to prove her ability. Riona’s accolades have since been extremely successful. ‘The illustration and embroidery internship I did with Alexander McQueen is definitely one of the triumphs of my career so far. Not just because, it was unfortunately his final collection’ she reflects. ‘But because I felt part of a team, part of a really creative team. I felt like I was part of McQueens collection. I had interned for Mary Kratzanou before, but it was very runner based. And then especially with two of my designs being featured in McQueen’s final collection. That I will always remember’she announces proudly.

Proud is definitely what she should be. Riona graduated with a 1st Class Hons Degree in Fashion and Textiles, then went on to become a Master in Textiles. Her honors obviously impressed to win such prestigious internships at McQueen and Kratzanou. Moreover Riona’s latest collection was featured in Brown Thomas, Dublin alongside JW Anderson. So let’s just say, Riona has a lot to be proud of and she is still only 28years old!

Deep in thought ‘It’s so sad though, I remember the day it happened,’she continues, ‘We (interns) all knew something had happened? We just didn’t know what? Then when we saw Sarah Burton crying we just knew whatever it was, it was really bad’

Unfortunately I can see Riona’s usual enthusiasm has been deflated, talking about McQueen whom she obviously really respected. I quickly change the subject asking how her latest achievement of the ‘Brown Thomas and Irish designers Create Project’ happened? ‘Right place at the right time really.’ she gushes. Riona’s mood has lifted as she hurriedly proceeds to tell me about the biggest highlight of her career so far ‘A Brown Thomas fashion scout was viewing a photographers work with whom I had just worked with, for a shoot. The scout then asked for my name and contacted me for an interview and that was it.’she exclaims.

We quickly order some tea and pastry delights, then Riona continues ‘Launching in Brown Thomas, which is a sister company of Selfridges allows me to launch my brand at the level I want my brand to be. On the same floor as Helmut Lang and JW Anderson is where I want my brand to sit. The Create Project was about recognition of quality and design and that’s what I wish my brand to stand for.’ Having closely followed and studied Riona’s latest collection I can’t help but agree, her brand is of high quality and design, it deserves to nestle amongst the big names.

‘My latest collection is the best yet.’I completely concur, the key dress of the collection I hint that I love! Almost a Victoria Beckhamesque silhouette, the neoprene appears to be really flattering and as for the print, each is achieved by hand and therefore a one-off. The dress is worth every penny!

‘The prints for the collection were all about shibori’a Japanese screen tye-dyeing technique.‘And how the moisture can alter the appearance of fabric’ Riona knowledgably proceeds.‘I draw my inspiration from my immediate environment. I photograph everything from patterns, shapes, textures, reflections, silhouettes and even colours.’

I then quiz her about trends, is that something she takes into consideration? ‘I don’t follow trends for my collections. I am aware of what other designers are doing, designers that I admire. It is like any creative industry, you will be inspired or influenced by other creatives, but it is not something that I aspire to follow.’Though when pressed who her favourite designers are?‘Martin Margiela, always a favourite. McQueen obviously. Comme des Garcons and Marios Schwab.’

She continues to discuss the new print genius’s Peter Pilotto and Mary Katrantzou’s digital style, ‘For me personally I like the immediacy of hand-dyeing and hand-printing and the uniqueness it achieves. I can appreciate digital print, as it is very engineered to create the scale of the body and with that very technical. So yeah I do admire them, the prints that are formed are interesting as they can really frame the body.’ After a sip of tea she summarises ‘Though for me, I enjoy using traditional techniques on modern fabrics’

Perhaps the more traditional techniques suit Riona’s target market? ‘She is between 30-45years. This woman knows herself, knows her body and understands what makes her tick and look good.’ This statement in itself perhaps echo’s the woman Riona has become, a woman that knows herself and knows what she wants? And that is when I question her on what is next? ‘I am now designing a collection for A/W 2013/14 with which I am hoping to get into Brown Thomas again next year? I am also in the midst of applying for everything. The main goal is for my collection to feature in somewhere like Dover Street MarketLiberty or Colette in Paris. But all is PENDING!’ She exaggerates on the word ‘pending’ and then smiles,‘I am applying though, for Vauxhall Fashion Scout, Fashion Fringe and Liberty’s have their open-call in January so there is a lot on the cards, but we will see?’

Yes hopefully we will see? I have truly enjoyed catching up with Riona. There is a certain magic about Riona? A ring of magic, hence her nickname ‘Riona Magic.’ Just like her designs Riona is a very beautiful and enchanting one-off. Her talent deserves to be exhibited on a worldwide scale. It now seems she has the will to succeed and the passion as she finally suggests, ‘I love fashion and what it can do to alter a mood or particular perception of someone. It’s a way of expressing oneself and the part that excites me the most is viewing the finished product that I have created on a woman’s body. And that is something I wish to be a part of!’

Finally since interviewing Riona, she has won the award as the ‘One to Watch’ in the Irish Fashion and Innovation Awards. This accolade has previously been held by J W Anderson!

Riona's A/W 2013 Collection

Riona’s A/W 2013 Collection

Riona Treacy’s one-off and bespoke designs can be purchased at http://www.rionatreacy.com/

Hope you enjoy viewing Riona’s stunning designs.

Stay Stylish,

The Image Mistress xo
Zadig & Voltaire

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Blog

Author:imagemistress2020

This will be some intro copy about Lynn, her career and why she is doing what she is doing.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “The Magic of Riona”

  1. Jackie
    January 28, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

    Very interesting and inspirational to hear of a fashion designer who is so passionate about her creations. The article about her journey thus far provides the encouragement to work hard to achieve success.

    • January 29, 2014 at 7:11 am #

      She is certainly very inspirational… I think we will be seeing a lot more of her designs in the future! Thanks for commenting xo

Leave a comment